Embracing Twitter

This week, as an experiment, I’ve embraced the bird.  I’ve joined the flock and tweeted a few times a day – random thoughts, helpful hints and interesting articles.  I’m following 84 people I admire, causes I care about, companies I do business with and I have a grand total of 18 followers at last count.

There’s no doubt that Twitter promotes interactive communication and is a great way to quickly share thoughts, interact with others, find jobs and reach customers.  But blogging it isn’t.  It has a frenetic, hyperactive and addictive feel.

How do you feel about this technology?  Are you a fan or a Twitterphobe?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Sadder But Wiser Girl
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 20:28:24

    I have used it to promote my blog, and I have gained some followers that I otherwise wouldn’t have if I hadn’t used it. I find it overwhelming though. I feel like there’s some secrets I still need to learn! 😉

    Reply

  2. Jane Fritz
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 21:31:58

    I’m glad to read about this. I haven’t tried Twitter; I feel like I spend more time on the Internet than is good for me already. It gets in the way of other things I even WANT to do because it’s easy and so accessible. Should I be convinced otherwise?

    Reply

    • puravida
      Jan 07, 2013 @ 06:21:23

      Hi Jane – At this point, I wouldn’t be very convincing! I can see how Twitter could be useful, but it feels like a constant distraction – and I don’t even use it on my phone.

      Reply

  3. virginiaplantation
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 23:14:50

    I am about to embrace the bird too! I just need to get it together and start it. My thought was that I could share our adventures as we really start doing some of the work around the plantation and start making purchases.

    Reply

  4. anneb54
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 03:49:11

    And I thought I was the only person on the planet (aside from a few technophobic relations!) who was not on Twitter. I really don’t want to get to know how something else works. Also, I know that I wouldl become involved at the expense of other things I do. But good luck with it. I’d love to know how you get on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

