New Year’s Revolution

January1

Every year about this time we start thinking about January and how this year will be different than all the years before.  We bring out the same old resolutions, dust them off, maybe add or subtract.  My annual list usually looks something like this:

  • Exercise more
  • Lose weight
  • Learn Spanish

A resolution is nothing but a “firm decision to do or not to do something,” and a decision is ineffective without motivation, meaning or a plan.  Lacking specific tasks and tactics and operating without clear vision, we quickly lose steam.

Sometimes it’s not necessary or desirable to make a change, and sometimes a complete overhaul is needed.  There is a spectrum ranging from reflection and resolution to renovation and reinvention.

I choose renovation.

ren·o·vate

Renovation is defined as the act of improving by renewing and restoring.  It is a good refresher, a new perspective, some polishing and cleaning up what is no longer useful.  It’s starting with a good base and seeing the potential.  And renovation suits me right now.

Dates, years and calendars really have nothing to do with our personal cycles of growth but we make the list each January nonetheless.  In my case, change this time has less to do with the new year than a different set of personal circumstances.

So I accept the challenge and embrace the opportunity for renewal.  I’ll make it up and make it happen.

Where are you on the spectrum?  Resolution or revolution?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Edmonton Tourist
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 16:17:55

    I’ve been revolting for 2 years now 😉 Actually, I have made it about goal setting. 1 small, acheivable goal, one step at a time. so far, 65 lbs down, I’ve walked a half marathon and I am nearly done my degree. All of which would never have happened if I didn’t decide to renovate 🙂

    Reply

  2. bodhisattvaintraining
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 17:00:16

    I think I’m stuck in reflection 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

