e•nol•o•gy – (n.) the study of wines

I’m something of a novice in the enological sense. In other words, I don’t know zip about wine.

Today I visited Spec’s Wines, Spirits & Finer Foods flagship store in Houston. Hardly your typical neighborhood wine shop (it’s Texas, y’all), this 80,000 square foot cavernous warehouse has aisles (or “streets”) of bottle-lined shelves. The staff was definitely friendly and seemed very approachable, but I had no idea where to begin. It helps to at least begin with a country, then a preference for a region and type.

In the end, I chose a Pinot Gris from Alsace, only because it was affordable and I hoped it would bring back good memories of the bottles I sampled in France this summer. Next time I may venture down the Spanish aisle. I can always use the helpful signs on the shelf as a guide.

Perhaps being a connoisseur is not in the cards, but I’m willing to take it slowly, one bottle at a time. What are your favorites? How have you learned? Next time I visit this vast Mecca of fine food and wines, I plan to be prepared.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Edmonton Tourist
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 16:19:01

    I had no idea there was a term for it! My favorites are Cup Cake – love the chardonay and the cab sauv, the red velvet is good but I can take it or leave it. I LOVE Frogs Leap Zinfandel and Chateux Montalena chardony. Those I look for for – after that…I’m an easy Cab Sauv kind of girl 😉

    Reply

  2. Anne Lawson
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 17:12:43

    My suggestion would be to try a Sauvignon Blanc from Australia. There are some lovely ones with passionfruit and berry flavours. But I love your idea of trying all sorts of different ones. Enjoy the adventure!

    Reply

  3. Jane Fritz
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 13:23:51

    Learn by drinking! You are beginning a mighty fine quest. I also like your global approach. Don’t take too long to try out Chile. BTW, with Thanksgiving upon us, gewürztraminer (or just gewurz) is really good with turkey!

    Reply

    • puravida
      Nov 18, 2012 @ 15:10:56

      I’m a “hands on learner” so I like your approach! Cooking around the world just seemed to go well with wine tasting around the world. Thanks for the tips!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

