No Reservations

Photograph by Felipe Ordonez – http://www.travel.nationalgeographic.com

Birdsong pierces the thin walls

of consciousness

as the sun warms the tent.

Last night I slept in an olive grove

on a hill above Florence,

today it’s on to Sarteano by way of Siena

and the fertile fields of Tuscany.

Willing slave to adventure,

I go where Mistress GPS commands.

I make a choice

random points on the map

…here

…there

but what awaits me in between?

That’s the delicious mystery.

I drink it all in and it becomes part of me.

Waves crashing in a hidden cove,

forum steps where people gather,

painted walls of sun-warmed stucco,

stone bodies frozen in ecstasy,

arches that draw the eye upward in wonder,

and ancient streets long covered in ash.

Fully awake,  joyfully alive

I celebrate the journey.

~Kim Montes

Leave a Reply

