Around the World in 50 Plates: An International Culinary Challenge!

Inspired by a suggestion from my brother-in-law Alejandro as well as a significant upcoming birthday, I am setting out to discover world cuisine one recipe at a time and invite you to come along!  More than willing to get out of my comfort zone, I’m featuring new discoveries along with old favorites.  And I’m challenging you to inspire and help shape the journey!

A fond memory also helped to inspire this project.  Our wedding took place at a friend’s converted one-room schoolhouse and a simple ceremony was followed by a big party.  Instead of requesting the usual expensive gifts, we asked our international friends and family to bring a dish from their homeland.  The result was a truly  memorable meal, prepared and shared with love.

International Food Festival

Vegetarian Food Festival

Twenty four years later, I’m inviting you to join a similar international feast.  Each week I will post a recipe or two from one country and would welcome any suggestions for countries to visit and/or recipes to try.  I’ll also feature guest bloggers to share a recipe or tell a story of a special time, dish or place.  Although it’s easier to stick to readily-available ingredients, your suggestions may prompt a culinary treasure hunt to track down something exotic.  That’s ok, too!  An active collaborator, I look forward to exploring your suggestions and requests and sharing inspiration.

At this point, we’re planning the itinerary, with a list of 50 countries.  The places may be special spots already visited, somewhere on the list of future destinations, your home country or a place that is close to your heart.  Next will come the menu for this memorable, many-course celebration.

Here are the rules:

  • 50 distinct countries
  • 1 recipe or meal from each country
  • Preferably vegetarian
  • Can be a food or beverage
  • Open to all!

Join this international culinary blogfest!  Where shall I go?  What shall I cook?  Feel free to leave your suggestions below.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Living Success 3D
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 15:22:58

    Wow. Fabulous idea. I am looking forward to the journey.

    Reply

  2. Pam Reynolds
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 16:40:26

    Could South Korea be on the list? As we are planning our epic journey there for the World Special Olympics? And I have always loved your wonderful, creative idea for a wedding dinner…wish I could have been there.

    Reply

    • puravida
      Oct 04, 2012 @ 17:09:10

      Yes – definitely yes! South Korea will be on the itinerary! Congratulations on the journey to the World Special Olympics – very exciting and well deserved!

      Reply

  3. Valerie
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 06:57:35

    I can definitely contribute an Egyptian recipe!

    Reply

  4. catrionakn
    Oct 13, 2012 @ 15:46:13

    Great idea!

    Reply

  5. Olaf Haase
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 07:23:34

    What a great idea. I see you have already done Germany… otherwise I would have suggested to stop by my blog…morethanbratwurst.com (selfishly trying to promote some traffic). Nonetheless, I am going to subscribe to your blog to follow you around the world in 50 Plates.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

