Super Green Smoothie

This time of year I’m longing for Indian Summer, but the weather here in Texas is still too darn hot.  When I was new to the Lone Star State, a lady helpfully told me that nights get cooler by the time the County Fair rolls around in late September and daytime temps plunge (sometimes right down into the 50’s) around Halloween.

After a morning walk, this smoothie is a quick energizer packed with nutrition – and only 128 calories.  Enjoy.

Green Smoothie with spinach, kiwi and banana 

Green Cooler

Serves 1

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 cup fresh spinach

1 kiwi, sliced or cut in pieces

1/2 banana (preferably frozen), sliced

1/2 cup crushed ice, if desired

Blend all ingredients until smooth.   Sometimes I add some peeled baby cucumber or a spoonful of protein powder.

(recipe originally published in Runner’s World)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sand Between My Sneakers
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 19:11:27

    Yum! Looks great. I’m ready for cooler temps too. I live in MD, but its still 85 here. Running outside has been difficult.

    Reply

  2. mmaaeeggss
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 22:09:03

    Reblogged this on mmaaeeggss.

    Reply

  3. jacquerose
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 18:20:31

    I have made this recipe and it is delicious….and I feel so healthy when I drink it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

