Brave

I really want to see the movie Brave.  A typical Disney story about a daring princess, it looks something like “Pocahontas Goes to Scotland” in the IMDB write up:

“Set in Scotland in a rugged and mythical time, “Brave” features Merida, an aspiring archer and impetuous daughter of royalty. Merida makes a reckless choice that unleashes unintended peril and forces her to spring into action to set things right.”

Being a Disney flick, I know it will have superior animation and a stirring soundtrack, but that’s not all that appeals to me.  The story calls to me at a time when I have 3 brave princesses of my own, making choices, taking risks and discovering who they are.  It’s not always easy as they travel to distant countries and face challenges or just have to deal with the overwhelming array of university choices and make a life-shaping decision.  My role tends to be supporter, advisor and coach and those responsibilities come easy when I’m cheering on my daughters.  But there’s the flip side of letting go.  Listening thoughtfully and knowing when NOT to give advice.  Disconnecting and realizing that these young women are becoming independent adults and facing a different world than I did.  Encouraging them to fly but not pushing too hard because of my own longing for adventure.  I’m not always good at the balancing act.

We’re all growing and changing, and we’re all being brave.  Here’s to impetuous women dealing with any kind of peril.  The difficulties shape us and keep us sharp.

Leave a Reply

