Badges and Treasure

Girl Scout Badges

Self discovery takes many forms.  Assessments can be helpful to uncover your strengths, interests and abilities. You can be a tourist in your own home and examine bookshelves and spaces, music and tools.  But I found the most helpful clue hiding in my closet and discovered that my interests and passions were there all along.

My mom had kept my Girl Scout sash for safekeeping and I was a little startled when I looked more closely at the collection of badges.  It was all there.  The hobo bandana (it’s called a bindle – there’s an official term) hinted at my inner vagabond and the footsteps and tent foreshadowed my cross-country walk and many camping adventures.  There is the dutch oven and grill, different than my titanium cookware and compact camping stove, but with the same function and simple pleasure.  The sculpture, palette and brushes, tools, basket and yarn doll bring back memories of craft-making with my daughters and a forgotten love of drawing, painting and clay.  The treble and bass clef are a nod to my enjoyment of music and the ingredients are evidence of the beginning of a lifetime of cooking and culinary exploration.  I don’t experience much of the four seasons down here in Texas, but remember watching in anticipation for the first spring flowers and loving Indian summer, cool weather and autumn leaves.

What are your badges?  What activities do you enjoy?  Look closely and find the treasure of you.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lautal
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 20:20:07

    Nice set of badges. And a lot of memory for you.

    Reply

  2. Layle
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 23:15:58

    Love your blogs and it was great seeing you yesterday!

    Reply

  3. Jane Fritz
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 19:06:56

    I’m going to have to dig out my badge sash, which is closing in on 55 years old. OMG!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 368 other followers

